The ZNA is hierarchically structured. It is a 3-star Headquarters commanded by a Lieutenant General who is the Commander ZNA. The Commander ZNA is deputised by 3 Major Generals appointed Chiefs of Staff. Together with the Commander they constitute the ZNA Command Element. Below this structure are 5 staff branches namely: General Staff, Training, Administration, Quartermaster and Inspectorate. General, Administration and Quartermaster Staff Branches sponsor Corps and Directorates, which are grouped according to their specialised roles as listed below:

The Army has motorised and mechanised infantry, artilery, special forces and a number of military training establishments under command.